Brick Meet Foundation.

It has been a while since I’ve had a substantial blog post on here. Sure I’ve added a few photos here and there, but I’ve been fairly quiet. You may have noticed the Facebook page has gone pretty quiet for the most part too.

Yes, life has gotten in the way, but I’ve also been dealing with those who have tried to discourage me from my passion for agriculture, blogging, and the farm.

Take the negatives and turn them into a positive.

Take the negatives and turn them into a positive.

Words hurt. They can get to you quite easily. I have always been a person who has had their feelings hurt easily, although I typically don’t let it show. My mom even wrote that in my baby book. I often choose not to say anything out of fear that someone will be hurt or will misunderstand what I am saying. Those that know me on a personal level, know that I have a flair for sarcasm, and if you don’t understand sarcasm, you’re probably not going to like what I have to say. So often at family events or other outings, I choose not to say much of anything. Then I get told I’m rude for not talking. Does anyone else have the problem of being an introverted extrovert? This is how I am when meeting new people or I’m around people I’m not comfortable with. Anyone else feel that way?

So where is this going? Let’s just say I have encountered some people who like to throw bricks. They try to discourage. Some days it seems out of jealousy, while other days, I’m not sure what it is at all. I stated before, that I take words to heart, and I know I shouldn’t. But being only human, I do. I did that. I didn’t post much on here for quite a while. I felt like I shouldn’t for some reason. I felt like I needed to justify who I was or what I was doing in order to even post. I stopped posting on our Facebook page. Why should I, if I didn’t have support and instead just negative bricks thrown at me?

Then I came to a big old realization and a phrase my momma says sometimes, “If they don’t like it, well, piss on them.”

I don’t have to justify to anyone for going out and spending time driving the combine or helping change shovels on a cultivator or bringing a warm meal out to the field. I don’t have to justify to anyone why I love farming so much, that I am extremely involved in multiple organizations based around agriculture and that I would rather make them a priority than other things in life. I can do all of this because I FARM. My husband and I farm. We don’t own any land, we rent land. We work hard. We have full-time jobs besides our farm. We have livestock in the form of honeybees that have to be tended to.We also have a horse, where I am lucky enough to have friends who can stable her for me, but I still am there as much as I can taking care of her. We farm. So yes, we have to be there during spring planting, during harvest season, to fix equipment, to make financial decisions at the bank, to meet with a seed salesman, to feed our honeybees, and so much more. It isn’t an optional thing. It is our livelihood.

A role as a farmer’s wife or farm wife or farmHer or just plain farmer goes way beyond making sandwiches for the people working in the field now a days. We drive equipment, pick out seed varieties, fix equipment, run for parts, sell grain, do the books, feed livestock, and yes, do the laundry too. I have never been what some view as a “traditional” farm wife, nor will I ever be. I will never be made to feel bad about my choice to farm and help the agriculture industry, in any way  I can.

I will continue to build my foundation with the bricks I seem to have gotten thrown. Yes, it knocked me for a bit, but now I’m using it to fuel me. My passion is strong as ever, and I’m thankful for those who have chosen to support me, and my husband on our journey. It has not always been easy. We are still figuring out our role on the farm. We are still figuring out our next steps as farmers. Every day is different, but we are working towards our goal because we love farming, we love the land, animals and couldn’t imagine our life without farming. Thank you to those who have encouraged me, given me advice, and serving as an inspiration. I am going to begin to make every effort to say thank you to those who have made an impact on my life, and let them know they serve as an inspiration to me, and have helped me with my foundation.

Have any of you experienced bricks in your life? In the form of events or people? How did you overcome them and use them as your foundation?

-Sara 

13 comments

  1. Dearest, Sara,

    I am so sorry bricks have been tossed at you. It breaks my heart to read this given your passion and love for farming, and just knowing you as a person. You do not deserve to be treated this way. But then no one does.

    This is your life. Do what makes you happy.

    I was judged many times for my decision to be a full-time Mom and now I sense the undercurrents regarding my writing career. But, at the end of the day, I am the person who needs to be happy, content and at peace.

    You get only one chance at this earthly life. So own it. Celebrate it. Follow your passions, heart and love. That’s my advice.

    1. Audrey, you always have such kind words. You are absolutely right- at the end of the day, you are the person who needs to be happy. If you weren’t a full-time Mom, think of all you would have missed out on. My mom still talks about Miranda’s horse drawings and how creative they were :) Thank you for the lovely words of advice- it means a lot.

      1. You are welcome, Sara. You are an incredible young woman whose passion for farming, writing, photography and more simply shine. You, more than anyone, know what’s right for you, what makes you happy. Always be true to yourself. Always.

  2. Sara,

    I am so sorry you’ve had people discourage you – this makes me angry because I know how passionate and talented you are. Your momma is totally right on this – be who you are and if anyone can’t take it, well tough hop. (That’s why my husband always says – “tough hop!”)

    I can totally relate to being an extroverted introvert … that just about fits me perfectly, as well. I can be extroverted when I want to be – and I love to be social … sometimes! But I also need my space and am not terribly comfortable speaking up in large groups. I worry about what I’m going to say and how it will sound. Annoying, right? But it’s part of my personality and I’ve been that way since I was little!

    Hang in there and do what makes you happy … if I could’ve told my 20-something self anything, I would’ve said go for your dreams and don’t worry about what the naysayers think!! Do what’s right for you. :)

    Lara

    1. I am the same way- I’m not terribly comfortable in large groups or speaking in front of people. I force myself to do it. Part of the reason I’ve joined so many groups-trying to push myself out of my comfort zone and become better at it. I get so nervous-even with extended family sometimes. Thank you for the kind words. You are an inspiration to many Lara!

  3. I completely agree with Lara. Don’t worry what others are saying. Follow your passion. And, honestly, the older you get, the easier. And you will look past those naysayers. Don’t go through life with regrets. And take advantage of every opportunity that comes your way. Okay, none of that sounded very cohesive. :) You, Sara, are very smart, wise and articulate and I love listening to what you have to say. And I would miss that if you let people bring you down. Keep your chin up. :)

    1. Thank you Wanda for being an inspiration to me. You are absolutely right-I think as I get older, it hopefully won’t affect me so much. My mom always says I need to be better at letting things roll of my back. Hopefully that will come with time.You are a brave woman and blogger who inspires me every day! Thank you!

  4. Sara-

    This is a very good read, I appreciate you sharing as I know it can be hard to have your feelings out there. I have had the same problem from time to time. My sisters and I have been raising fullblood Boer Goats. Over the past few years out animals have done extremely well at county, state and even national levels however the more we win it seems like the larger target we have on our backs. I was told at the beginning of some of our larger wins ‘the more you win, the more people will start to not like you.’ Even though this is sad, it is true in all aspects of life. As some who would probably fall under the people pleaser category it kills me when someone doesn’t like me. My dad told me I need to remember the rule of thirds- 1/3 of people are going to think you are the best thing since sliced bread, 1/3 of people aren’t going to like you and 1/3 of people really don’t care what you do. That is for every person. And if they don’t know you for who you are it is their loss.

    1. You are absolutely right Sara! I like that rule of thirds. Your dad sounds like a wonderful and wise man. I hope I will get to meet him sometime over the course of the next few years here! I know I probably fall under the people pleaser category too, but it is something I’m working on to realize you just can’t please everyone. Thank you again for your kind comment and words of wisdom!

  5. I stumbled across your blog for the first time today. Despite the fact that I’ve enjoyed reading many of your well-thought-out posts, I was not planning on commenting on anything for many reasons. Would it be weird to draw your attention back to thoughts from months ago? We also don’t really know each other, and you probably don’t need to hear the opinion of a stranger to know that you’re doing a great job. But this post, with its spirit of both communicating honestly and feeling unsupported, encouraged me to get over that and reach out.

    It’s wonderful to see how much you have accomplished already, and at such a young age. I am still just getting started with my life in agriculture. Reading about all your hard work, the courage it takes to get involved and be seen (scary!), and your grateful and optimistic attitude has been incredibly inspiring to me. I hope people aren’t still throwing bricks now, but you should know that your writing here is also very much appreciated. I’m sure the local ag community is very lucky to have you!

    1. Sarah, thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate them. I think sometimes, in any industry, we forget to propel people forward. I was able to talk about my path in agriculture to a group of 10th & 12th graders this week, and I truly hope I communicated how lucky they are to already be making such an impact in agriculture.

Leave a Reply

